Continued: BY THE BEDSIDE – A DRAWING CHALLENGE

Welcome again everyone!  Today’s post is a continuation of a challenge set for myself on the 20th of December, whereupon I would draw whatever appears on my bed (or “bedside”) for seven days.

So, I’m curious, did anyone actually follow the challenge with me? Did you feel inspired to participate or adopt a similar art-challenge for themselves? And, most importantly, if you did, was it fun?


The intention as described in the original post:

This idea originated from utilising everyday objects and places to better understand tone or tonal values. I thought, quite randomly, “what if I draw whatever appears on my bed?”. I set this as a challenge for myself to complete a drawing a day (or night) for seven days. I welcome you along to follow the challenge, and post the results of your own work and share and talk about this.


Beside this were three rules  (1) leave the bed and objects how they were, (2) choose an unfamiliar media, and (3) don’t be concerned about mistakes.

Objects on my bed were really quite varied – everything from a chair to an African djembe drum. However, alongside this, almost every time a fold of sheets or an assortment of clothes appeared.


RESULTS*

* Results include the first two drawings previously shown.

1:

Bedside drawing 1. Conte on Khaki paper
Bedside drawing 1. Conte on Khaki paper

2:

Bedside drawing 2. Conte on Khaki paper
Bedside drawing 2. Conte on Khaki paper

3:

Bedside drawing 3. Conte on khaki paper.
Bedside drawing 3. Conte on khaki paper.

4:

Bedside drawing 4. Conte on khaki paper.
Bedside drawing 4. Conte on khaki paper.

5:

Bedside drawing 5. Conte on khaki paper.
Bedside drawing 5. Conte on khaki paper.

6:

Bedside drawing 6. Conte on khaki paper.
Bedside drawing 6. Conte on khaki paper.

7:

Bedside drawing 7. Conte on khaki paper.
Bedside drawing 7. Conte on khaki paper.

As we can see, the variety of drawings is quite large, even in a small number like this. The bed never remains the same; something always alters and it largely goes unnoticed.

My initial ‘plan’, so to say, of achieving a tonal quality, was not always met to the fullest degree. Most of the time I find this terribly hard myself, which is why I conducted this to show all of you readers. My real skill lies in linework, rather than in blocks of tone. I think this is quite evident in the results above.

Perhaps the best drawings that meet this are the first two I completed. Still, 2 decent drawings out of seven is a win for me!

I hope you enjoyed reading the post.

Till next time,

Tom. 🙂

Leave a comment