Dreamland

I’m going somewhere, doing something to get to somewhere to do some more. It’s always about the next thing, and there’s always a backtracking to moments gone. Transitory moments against solidified happenings. It’s morning and the thought of the unperceivable immensity of things to do, things to think of, reflect on, plan and the current action of the going-somewhere-but-not-there-yet is burning inside me, crackling and ripe with resonance. And it’s always here I want to express something, something always arising from a rapturous feeling. Feeling eventually converted and displayed through small pockets.

It’s about you, us, me, the world, the light in the morning fields, the shredding bark falling in the woods or the sun escalating spherically over that one open eye in some dead animal on the road. Or all of it. All at once.


I guess the point of this is I feel, sometimes, that we all have a lot to say in our expression, whatever that may be, and have to reduce it simply to contain it in a comprehensible format for others to enjoy (that is, if that is the purpose of the communication). One thing comes before the next or the other and a decision has to be made what shines on and what is kept away. I guess decisions like this broaden an awareness of importance vs. hyper productivity.

Today, I’ll be sharing some writing—and yes, if you are wondering, somehow scrambling through this blog trying to find new artwork, I will eventually put up some new work soon—about something that is entirely related to the above paragraph and quite in the same spirit, too. This I call ‘Dreamland’. It’s basically a study on the aforementioned and part poem part general reflection.

Again, as you all know, none of these things are more than first drafts, so keep that in mind when reading them. At the moment I like to keep it immediate and raw as much as possible.


DREAMLAND


There will be a time when I will look for you in the distance of myself across the collapsing valleys of high, all shimmering with languor, and I will say this in the continuous beat, the resounding pressure of the deep unceasing flow: this is what I have come to.

Amongst the nocturnal ridges of your breathing I will be changed. My work will become a sign for you amongst all other acts. In the undulating soft win the result of my self will be actualized for the eyes of the world.

This is what I must reach; reach a time where I begin to realise what birth for me was for and why breath is still claiming entrance to the inside.

I will wonder with you in all the spaces between and afar: chart the home of washed stone, to the sea, in the rooms of the little buildings we endlessly shared-the white and the grey walls, the ochre hearth blazing-and back to the closest grip of all. Back to your arms forevermore.


Thanks all!

I hope you enjoyed this and wish you all a fine day/night wherever you may be.

Again–and I’ve expressed this quite a bit–I’d really appreciate a comment on my progress with this blog, seeing as it has been going for a while and there’s a bit of history to it now. If you feel the compulsion of replying or leaving a comment or anything, I grant you full access.

Tom. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Dreamland

  1. Sometimes when we are all alone, a subtle whisper of the spirit cries out for us to do something that will take us ‘there’, where it’s all meant to be. We try to sound insightful, mystical, humorous, self-deprecating, energetic, just something that will elevate ourselves to a feeling of knowing we need something more. This constant quest of doing, of making bigger and better ourselves, is admirable, but intrinsically floored. And it is simple why; because if all that one ever did was strive to better what one has already down, to plant the next apple tree before they have finished growing the first, then they do not end up enjoying the moment all that work had gone too. Live in the moment. Be confident in your impulses and intuition. Love what makes you feel good, and discard what is useless. Life is a like a sculpture carved in stone; the best results dwell in the subtraction of the unnecessary. Unnecessary hyperbolic convolutedness does not make a thing better, it takes no more or less skill. It masks the essence of things, like another layer of marble begging to be carved away from the sculpture. Ockham’s Razor asks for the simplest answer to a problem. His razor is not always practical in the modern would we live in today, but old Ockham was on to something when we apply his methodology to our own lives. Not to say we must live simply or be ignorant in some way, but to know when one would benefit from a personal ‘simplification’ and shedding of old skin, in a sense. Living in the moment, stripping back to your raw essence and allowing the rough properties of language, of art, and of life to swell with-in you, could be your way to further refining your inner sculpture. Enjoy the journey, because that’s all we’ve got

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Tom,

    I really loved the part where you wrote “I will wonder with you in all the spaces between and afar…” It has such an endless feeling to it. Thank you for sharing it with us all. It was beautiful.

    -Hannah

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! I really love your writing and how you convey such feeling through what’s almost like a story. Most people these day only use language and words for basic communication without meaning to it. It’s nice to be able to read something with depth and meaning to it, where one sentence and make you feel something or triggers you to think about things that wouldn’t normally cross your mind. It’s like people often hide their deeper emotions and ignore them, letting them go unspoken out of fear. I won’t deny i do it just as much as others but i think that the societal normalcy for emotions has become more simplistic and so much goes unspoken. Then when people stray from what’s “normal” they become classed as different or targeted. Or at least that’s the case in my experience.

    Pretty much it’s nice to read raw material with more complexity to it :))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment