Difficult Simplicities

Hi everyone! I hope you are all well and buzzing with ideas, activity and good intent.

I wrote this not to anyone in particular, but I did write it as if embodying the role of a young adult and his role to tell his child of those also particularly true situations we face in life. It’s not quite as debilitating as saying, “Oh, the Easter bunny isn’t really real”, but more subtle, as anything worth saying like this should be. But it is also our conditioning of allowing the child to feel difficulty and suffering, towards their achievement and best ability that we are somewhat responsible for. These concerns are just as much our own as our children’s. I guess it’s a reminder, then, to not be so worried about the small and trivial things we let ourselves get disturbed by, or led astray.

And that’s really the basis for this piece. It has no other ramifications or establishments. It is my quick reflections on the troubles of growing up. Because we all have to grow up into larger people, but it doesn’t mean we have to lose our curiosity and wonder for the world around us and its people.


Difficult Simplicities


In the world you will stumble

Lose your balance and mumble

About how things are not simple

Cruise the elementary storm

But awake to the dawn

Feel safe and warm

Despite the troubles you’ve worn

See all the things in your way

with boundless astray

Walking round and not knowing

That these things you were seeking

Were within your heart’s beating

From the moment you knew

It was the right thing to do

It was more difficult to be done

But suffering for our wishes, or hopes, or finding out

Is a matter of course, of perception, of knowing

That the things you are seeking do not seek to harm you

But are merely there to confusingly remind you

That you’re human all over

But mean much more to me

In the way you are smiling

So much so you are crying

 ♦

Because I’m here for you too

And we’re going to see

How far your strings hum

In the glorious sun

Look at me, touch me, feel me as your own

Fall asleep in my curls above the boundless sky

And we’ll dream, you and me,

And I’ll remind you again

Of our trivial concerns,

Our difficult simplicities.


Leave a comment