Lunar Lacuna

You guessed it! Another writing piece. As I promised yesterday, this will follow on from those previously shared here on His Empty Space. This piece is called ‘Lunar Lacuna’ and follows on, in a way, from what was started in the ‘Moonlight Mare’ piece written just a while back. While this is not a really huge poem and doesn’t follow any standard rules–and I’m not sure if it deviates from those either–I’m always concerned with small details and the atmosphere those can bring to the vision of the piece.

This vision of the story is reinforced by a small landscape I have done. If you enjoy this piece, be sure to check out my website and my FB art page – the first from the drop down menu on this blog and the second on my about page. Cheers!


“Intimacy” is really the word I’d described this piece encompasses. Intimacy between animal and human and that very peculiar and particular bond a person can form when you build certain experiences with the creature. I’m sure many of you know what I mean when I say that.


As always, I hope you enjoy this small piece of myself and the words that transfigure before you.


LUNAR LACUNA

A

Flaking, still steed

Today, near the glebe

She’s as beaming as day,

Into which we rode miles away

And I touched your broad head,

Near your warm blanketed barnstead

While the soft patter played

Your evanescent breath fades

My flummoxed heart gave

at your irresponsive gaze.

My trembling rained high

into that crepuscular sky.

But you innate kindling force

gave me a memory to save.

I’ll go far away, watch your smile on replay.

Watch patterns cipher

Catch the stars in my blindness.

Touch your bristles once more

In my lunar lacuna.


Again, thank you all for stopping by here to read this and bask in the fleeting words that jingle around in my head.

It’s always a pleasure to share these things with you. Once, not so long ago, I was quite secretive about all of these words. But I don’t think there’s any need. We should all share the beautiful things inside of us or those expressions that should be expressed so we can inspire and enliven other’s lives, and hope to make them feel compelled and whole.


Thanks!

Tom.

Leave a comment