Lotus Skirt

Welcome, readers!

For today, I offer a new small piece from my recent musings, entitled ‘Lotus Skirt’. Following in the same reign as my other poetic explorations, this piece turns back to the darker elements and the more numinous  and somewhat haunting atmosphere that I tend to crave.

p.s. The cover image is my own artwork, as always. If you’re interested in my work, head over to

I hope you all really enjoy this piece! More to come soon.


  LOTUS SKIRT

The malignant squeal

From bursting zenith peal

 ☾☽

On our becalmed banks of Mesa

Where we’re all drenched in ether

 ☾☽

With charging howl, and deep distant growl,

it rises ahead

Above our small heads

 ☾☽

Wayward we crawl, creatures of hollow

Before the animating shadows of the dark

descending fellows

 ☾☽

Audible punctures from our distant

others;

Ecliptic explosions; planetary erosion

 ☾☽

Lurching, growing

With echelon staves glowing

 ☾☽

Imminence calls,

Breaks our capsule walls;

Teething haggard skulls,

Grinding amputated sin

 ☾☽

Figure of Lotus Skirt

Trails the mid-morning scorched dirt

 ☾☽

Tastes the warm air

in our disintegrating despair

 ☾☽

Looks to the sea

Groans in agony.

 ☾☽

Flesh stripped from the bone

Blasted winds carry her home.


Thanks again for stopping by

Peace,

Tom. 🙂

Leave a comment