The Quadrant

Welcome, readers! I hope you are all well and fit and fine and busy in your lives.

Today’s writing is a small meditation about a particular person. I’ll leave it at that and let you read it, absorb it, see what you think of it.


THE QUADRANT


It’s been one quarter and, still, it feels strange walking the earth without you near my side.

The little travels I go on, with all their colours and atmospheres; all the beaming people and their objects, they all seem more mysterious and more nostalgic. Brighter, inexplicably lucent and full of potential.

The air smells surer and clearer now; I am prone to those succulent scents of flowers and food, of freshly washed clothes or things baking in the sun with their maturing, maternal warmth.

I have lost those pair of eyes that we both know. As I watch and look by the places I now find myself in–looking near and looking far–all that occurs to me is that you are missing and that I am still missing you, wondering if you’re doing the same.

I’m looking for you in other people but you can’t be replaced and their faces can’t match.

Thank you for still being something after one quarter.


Thanks for stopping by, everyone!

Peace,

Tom.

Leave a comment