Something for someone and for everyone.

I wrote this quite a long time ago now for someone quite special to me indeed. But, as things move and shift in the world, so do the meanings of things and their influence.

This piece of writing is now a nostalgic memory, a time not present but made so only by reflection, as the words endure and the images that they encapsulate. I guess this is true of any piece of writing, whether it be a small snippet of words in succinct and minimalistic prose or a huge stanza that is deceivingly subtle.

However, this piece is free from any rules on technique or method – mostly because I do not think that it matters in this context. It is simply words and details from a moment in time. It is now for the special person whom I wrote it to as much as it is for any reader that will read this. Of course, it will be both connotatively and denotatively different for each of you as you experience it.

I saw the rock that once met you and I

through the dewy mist of your amber eye

where the cold shore kissed and trembled foam

Each other’s hand bound again.

A growing, deep turquoise wave; a soft wind turning your gaze.

Between the dark dream and the morning sun

I have loved you like no other one. 

Don’t be afraid to make a comment if you have any thoughts or anything to say! 🙂

Thanks!

Leave a comment